Here is not There

Here is not There

So I got accused, in a veiled way, of being a religious bigot today. I don’t think I’ve been so irritated since the day I was told, repeatedly, that I was not a Christian, because Mormons aren’t Christians. Her pastor had told her so, and that was the end of it.

All because I posted a meme without a religious word or reference in it (unless you count Utah as a religious reference). Mind you, this was posted on my private wall, NOT a public post. So to come in and lecture me is the equivalent of coming into my living room, and grousing about the décor.

Now, I’m not sure how this rates sending me a link to a Conference talk by a leader of my Church, that I shouldn’t suggest people go back where they came from. I’m happy to have them here – if they are willing to see how here is a great place. Nor how it makes me “insular and narrow-minded”. I’m by no means suggesting here is perfect. However, that’s because I don’t believe anywhere is perfect, NOR THAT WE SHOULD TRY TO MAKE IT SO.

You see, I came from the beautiful state of California. A state that is on the fast-track to becoming a Third World hole. Feel free to insert the four letter word of your choice into that expression – because it’s both accurate and appropriate. How did California get so bad? People moved there, and then tried to make it just like the places they left. They imagined Utopias, and tried to turn California into their various versions of Utopia.

Actually, I usually say we escaped from California. We still have family there, and we’ve been back a few times. Every time I go (and we’re only in the “nice” parts), I’m reminded of why I have no regrets, and why you couldn’t pay me to live there again. Well, maybe you could – in 7 figures, and for a very temporary stay.

The roads are in bad shape. They can’t keep the electricity on, because it’s not safe. Certain cities have poop maps. Oh, and it’s racist to clean it up, apparently. The schools are rated at or near the bottom of the 50 states. Mostly because it’s more important to shape children’s opinions than to inform, educate, and teach them to think. And the opinions they want them to have! They’ve spent billions on idiotic things like the high-speed train to nowhere, while they let critical infrastructure fall apart.

I could go on and on, but all you’d have to do is go to any website or newspaper article about California. There are places in California that are more reminiscent of the current state of Venezuela, which is where I fear it’s headed if something doesn’t change.

I’m thinking, because Utah tends to be rather white, that the above comments could also be taken as a sly dig towards accusing me of racism. Ahem. My dad’s best friend when I was born was from Mexico. As in, Yogi (so nicknamed because his last name was Yberra – oh, the horrors!) and my dad worked together, went hunting together, and our families camped together. They were gone hunting the weekend I was born, for crying out loud (that’s another story). My best friends at ages 5, 11, and 20ish, were black. My grandpa and his brother, first generation Americans of German parents, spoke Spanish fluently and worked with lots of Latin immigrants. Every school and workplace I ever was in were all fully integrated. That’s California for you. So that irritates me too.

Or any other -phobic or anti- this or that. I have gay friends and relatives. We may not agree on some things, but we are still friends and family. A family member recently came out, and was worried I’d reject them. A couple of our best friends, who are former LDS members, and now are rather anti-LDS, were shocked that it was even an issue. To quote the husband – “You two are some of the most open-minded people we know! How could they even think that!” Whether or not I feel like going to a gay parade or rainbowing my profile.

Yes, I am a person of faith. I don’t post all that much about it – but what I do is friendly, upbeat, and faith-promoting if anything. I am also political. I have a lot of opinions, and I am not about to bury who I am, simply because one aspect of my life is LDS. Nor, as a political person, do I leave my faith at the door of the polling location. If you haven’t spoken to me in person for over 30 years, or you’ve never even met me, I’d have to say you don’t know me at all. And I’d also have to say I probably don’t care what you think of me. Unless, of course, you come on to my wall and give me crap about it.Utah here is not there

Leave a comment